Australian Time Trials Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held in Executive Suite, **Challenge Stadium**, Mt Claremont on **Saturday July 30, 2011**

Members Present:

Cam Berg; Mike Clemson; Fred Cottier; Troy Coulthard; Luke Dawson; Matt Dec; Don Dragicevich; Dave Equid; John Ferguson; Guido Gadomsky; Stuart Gee; Byron Geneve; Phil Gyford; James Hales; Roger Hales; Paul Lavery (PL); Derek Mayall; Steve McKiernan; Neil McRae (NMcR); Peter Meyer; Susie Munro (SM); Natalie Roberts (NR); Jenny Sammons; Lorraine Schutz (LS); Jeff Usher; Peter Vaughan; Robin Warrington (RW); Helen Watkins

08:25 Presentation of Trophies, Hilly shirts and BAR medals.

08:30 Meeting Opened

Chairman: Peter Meyer

Minutes: LS

Apologies: Greg Aldridge; Nicky Armstrong; José Arregui; Andrew Bennett; Ross Boaden; Sean Crummey; Alan Flanders; Jerard Ghossein; Adam Godwin; Michael Guerin; Brad Hall; Sara Langridge; Chris Roberts; Trevor Robson; Mike Round; Graham Thornton; Brad Woodbrook

The assumption was made that that all members present had read the various documents relevant to the meeting all of which had been published on the website previously.

Previous minutes (2010) accepted on voices (Proposed/Seconded: SM/NR) Matters arising: none.

President's Report.

The following notes were made on the published report:

• WestCycle will be launched next week. Steven McKiernan, wearing his BTA hat provided some additional detail on the structure and potential functions of WestCycle. Eventually ATTA hopes it will achieve, by some form of universal membership, that which we have espoused as a fundamental principle: inclusiveness.

It was gratifying that ATTA was invited to be a foundation member; disappointing that BWA and WCMCC are not yet involved.

There is not the possibility of any CWA changes that will improve our marginal status there. Substantial operational improvements have been made but there's no will to move from the established structure and nexus with CA. The new CWA constitution will fix the issues that were revealed last year but not change anything significant with regard to the status of ATTA.

- Membership no change this year from the big increase last year. Only 2010 data is available for the overall count of CWA members in ATTA but approximately 38% of ATTA members hold CA licences. This is reflected in event participation; a large proportion of riders are Triathletes or 'Masters' affiliates.
- Cancelled events seemed to feature in our early season. They were the result of 'complications' arising from bureaucratic procedures and, unfortunately, the rescheduled Wandi event, that had originally been a sell-out, attracted fewer riders at the end of the season.

 The Early-Bird series again proved it is viable and the BIP series will be retained although attracting fewer women riders over the past few seasons; we are still considering how to recognise blokes' performances in the EB series but will do so in the coming series.
- West Coolup, a new course worked well for the '160' this year; a variation will allow a full 160km next year.
- Courses with dubious futures were identified: Inkpen; Neerabup; Herne Hill; Brookton; Chittering; Bibra Lake; Wandi.
- The full 2012 program is almost ready to publish.

• Timing.

More groups are adopting electronic timing. The Peel decision was disappointing (note forum posting); SWCC likely to adopt a passive system. Transponder failures - MyLaps identified a batch problem and is replacing failures from amongst them but we've still had a few others die; hopefully this only represents part of a long 'tail'. We now include a pre-race check of devices in our procedures and are about to add battery monitor to ATTAtime. Purchase of additional software means that events can be set up independently by at least one other person now; it is also an additional, necessary backup storage for all ATTA data.

- Administration the rules (Constitution) need rewriting as they no longer conform fully to the requirements of 'the Act'. This will be fairly straightforward revision but will require a Special General Meeting for its ratification and this will happen well before the next AGM.
- Succession: Mike did his bit and then needed a holiday; Lorraine expanded her skills; 'permissions' now can be handed over readily to another user. The requirements have become more rigorous but we now have good documents that can be used simply as templates.

Treasurer's Report:

A verbal summary was given

(Proposed/Seconded: NMcR/RW and agreed on voices that the reports be accepted)

Election of Office Bearers

All positions having been declared vacant and the following having declared their willingness, the following were elected unopposed:

- President: Peter Meyer
- Vice-Presidents: Natalie Roberts; Lorraine Schutz
- Treasurer: Mike Round
- Secretary: (Events Co-ordinator) Susie Munro

A number of the duties of the Office of Secretary will be shared, as in the past, by various office bearers because it is operationally more convenient.

Management Committee. Reappointed, unopposed: Troy Coulthard; Byron Geneve; Roger Hales; Neil McRae. Helen Watkins and Cam Berg also expressed their willingness to join the committee and were appointed unopposed. Nicky Armstrong would remain on the Administration emailing list and Peter Vaughan asked to be added to it

General Business:

... recommended that Membership fees remain at \$25 (Family \$40; Juniors <16 and Seniors >60, \$15) and Race entry fees also remain unchanged (Proposed/Seconded: LS/PL and agreed on voices)

The date of the next AGM was provisionally set for July 28, 2012

Meeting closed at 09:40.

Peter Meyer